595LM Routing Nightmare

Discussion in 'Garmin GPS' started by Ray Sherman, Jun 24, 2018.

1. Ray Sherman

Ray Sherman

Took my first trip with my 595LM. I used Basecamp for Mac in which I made 6 different routes due to the 30 waypoint limitation instead of using shaping points. I have many years of experience with my Garmin 276c which was flawless using MapSource. My routes have a combination of expressways, state and county roads. Here's my nightmare..... the 595LM kept re-routing making shortcuts any where from gravel roads to two tracks. It "did not" want to stick to my pre-made route. My preferences are shown below. None of this mattered........ If anyone knows what may be going on along with correcting this problem...... Please let me know. Thank goodness for paper maps.

BaseCamp Preferences.jpg

Ray Sherman, Jun 24, 2018
  2. Ray Sherman

Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

If the map used on Basecamp is exactly the same as the map installed on the 595LM, I would expect the Route taken by the 595LM to be the same as the Route displayed in Basecamp, however, the Basecamp Routing Preferences shown above will be overridden by the Routing Preferencies on the 595LM itself, so they also need to be set on the 595LM to match the ones above

Nuvi-Nebie, Jun 25, 2018
  3. Ray Sherman

Ray Sherman

Thanks for the help...... I will check the settings on the 595LM. Hopefully that's the problem. Thanks again, I sincerely appreciate the help. Ray :)

Ray Sherman, Jun 25, 2018
  4. Ray Sherman

Ray Sherman

I went into the 595LM settings. I did have a couple settings different than what is set in Basecamp, they arte as follows;
    Basecamp Avoidances:
    Unpaved Road (checked)
    Ferries (checked)
    Toll Roads (checked)
    595LM Avoidances:
    Unpaved Roads (unchecked)
    Ferries (unchecked)
    Toll Roads (Allow)

Other current 595LM Settings
    Off Route Recalculation

Automatic (highlighted)

Installed Maps:
    595LM myMaps:

CN North America NT 2019.10 Foursquare