Basecamp issue .... with tracks ...

Discussion in 'Garmin GPS' started by Techdenis007, Dec 16, 2022.

  1. Techdenis007

    Techdenis007

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2022
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ontario
    I'm having a major issue trying to put tracks on my new Montana 700i. The stupid Garmin Connect app & website aren't letting me put large size tracks on the unit. So I've tried adding them manually directly into the GPX subfolder of the unit, to no avail. All of this because Basecamp isn't allowing me to open, import or add my GPX files .... the Import field is grayed out.

    What's the trick ???
     
    Techdenis007, Dec 16, 2022
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Techdenis007

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,004
    Likes Received:
    167
    Location:
    UK
    You can only import into My Collection so in the case below File > Import is greyed out

    Image1.jpg


    But if you select My Collection then File >> Import is not Greyed out eg :-

    Image2.jpg
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Dec 16, 2022
    #2
    Techdenis007 likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Techdenis007

    Techdenis007

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2022
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ontario
    Aahhh I just knew it was something stupid I wasn't doing right.

    Thanks very much!!
     
    Techdenis007, Dec 16, 2022
    #3
  4. Techdenis007

    Techdenis007

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2022
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ontario
    Tested and yes it works, thank you ! I'm curious to know if the stupid app doesn't edit the track to 2 waypoints when uploaded from BCamp this way.... it seems that the app limits the number of points in the track due to its own limitations. I hope it doesn't.
     
    Techdenis007, Dec 28, 2022
    #4
  5. Techdenis007

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,004
    Likes Received:
    167
    Location:
    UK
    Basecamp won't change the number of Waypoints unless you tell it to, there is an option when you select a Track eg:- Double click Track >> Filter >> Fewer Points or Maximum number of Points, but as default the number of Points (Waypoints) is not changed, so sending a Track from Basecamp to your 700i will not reduce the number of Waypoints in the Track
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Dec 28, 2022
    #5
    Techdenis007 likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.