Double difference carrier phase observation

Discussion in 'General GPS Discussion' started by mohsin, Mar 14, 2012.

1. mohsin

mohsin

Hi everyone,

I am new in the world of GPS and I am using two ublox GPS LEA-6T precision timing receivers for my project for the relative positioning. currently I am doing the offline processing by using RINEX files and both of the receivers are stationary. I am investigating how much the baseline will change with time using a basic geometric model for relative positioning.

I took the double difference carrier phase measurement as following.
    1. appointing a common satellite (hi)
    2. DDCP = (CProver[prn] - CPref[prn]) - (CProver[hi] - CPref[hi])

The application requires that the initial position of both the receivers are known. In my case both of the receivers are static so I did the following 2 different cases to get rid of the ambiguities as I have not gone to the step of ambiguity resolution yet.

1. I took the known GPS receiver position and found the arbitrary initial ambiquity value by finding the distance between known receiver and satellite positions. although these ambiquities are not accurate but I just want to see the baseline variation with time so will this variation be effected due to this?

2. If above case is not correct then in other case I placed both of the antennas closed together within one wave length distance so that both receivers experience the same ambiquities so they should be canceled in differencing.
    I hereby require help on following two issues.

1. I want to ask that if both of the GPS receivers takes measurements at full GPS second then is there still a need of extrapolation for receiver data synchronization for differencing?