Entry level Sat Nav for Loading pre-determined routes

Discussion in 'General GPS Discussion' started by rustyg, Jul 16, 2019.

  1. rustyg

    rustyg

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello
    I have owned 2 Garmin nuvi sat nav over the past years and neither is able to load routes. (you can add the odd wey point that is all. Loading routes for holiday routes would be a major advantage. Currently I just keep adding a new destination to force it down a route I want. I understand that one uses "base camp to produce a route". Garmin have advised me that the LM51 Drivesmart will take routes. However Amazon reviews say that it cannot??? Any ideas. I do not want to buy yet another sat nav that will not take routes.
     
    rustyg, Jul 16, 2019
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. rustyg

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    UK
    Could you supply a link to the Amazon review you mention in your post?, I think it may be incorrect, please note that Garmin have both a Drivesmart 51 and a Drive 51, they are not the same product, as far as I am aware all Garmin satnavs that have a menu that includes an 'Apps option' that leads to a 'Trip Planner' screen will accept downloaded Routes from Garmin Basecamp, in this screen you can generate and save a 'New Trip' to be used at a later date and downloaded Routes are kept in the same save area

    I have an entry level Nuvi 56 LM (no longer available) and that has the 'Trip Planner' option, a current replacement unit would be something like the Drive 51 (NOT Drivesmart 51) this has 'Trip Planner' and is cheaper than the Drivesmart which has functionality you may not need
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Jul 17, 2019
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. rustyg

    rustyg

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there thankyou for your replies. I trust your reply more than the Amazon ones. I suspected that newer versions must be able to load routes. My 2 sat nav are quite old now and definitely can't take routes. But it is such a fundamental requirement if on holiday.
    Rustyg
     
    rustyg, Jul 17, 2019
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.