eTrex 20 question

Discussion in 'Garmin GPS' started by NealPT, Sep 20, 2021.

  1. NealPT

    NealPT

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an older eTrex 20 and have been using it for years so I know how everything works. I go for a walk about every morning (normally the same route) so when I start out I Clear the current track on the eTrex, the walk my route, the save the track. (I do this simply to keep track of when I have walked). That has worked fine for years and it still records the track correctly but about 2 months ago it started doing a weird thing. When I start recording the 7th track it displays one of the previous recorded tracks (magenta color) on the screen (see attached picture). You'll notice in the picture that I walked a slightly different route just so you can see that it's recording the current track that I am walking. I tried clearing all tracks and all archived tracks and did a factor reset but it still does the same thing. Anyone have any idea why it brings up an old track?
     

    Attached Files:

    NealPT, Sep 20, 2021
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. NealPT

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    UK
    It looks to me like you are displaying a previously saved Track, on my GPSMap64s the steps are :- Menu >> Menu >> Setup >> Track Manager >> [select saved track] >> Enter >> View Map* >> Go >> Enter, this will display the saved Track (in magenta), with a start and end flag, The GPS is now in navigate mode so that you can re-trace your previous Track

    To remove the magenta Track I would enter :- Find >> Stop Navigating, this will take the GPS out of navigating mode and remove the saved Track from the screen

    *Note
    On the View Map screen, there is also a 'Hide on Map / Show on Map' option
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Sep 21, 2021
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. NealPT

    NealPT

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    The things is that I am not Navigating .... I am just recording a track. Your are correct in saying that it is displaying an old track and that's the problem. If I was navigating I would expect it to display it but I'm not.
     
    NealPT, Sep 21, 2021
    #3
  4. NealPT

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    UK
    OK. so Stop Navigating didn't work, did you try Hide on Map / Show on Map ?
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Sep 21, 2021
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.