Etrex 32x first point on recorded track "crazy"

Discussion in 'Garmin GPS' started by PaulS, Jan 29, 2024.

  1. PaulS

    PaulS

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2024
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    upload_2024-1-29_12-1-35.png
    Notice the 363 miles

    I erase just the first point and:

    upload_2024-1-29_12-3-17.png

    any ideas?
     

    Attached Files:

    PaulS, Jan 29, 2024
    #1
  2. PaulS

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,322
    Likes Received:
    198
    Location:
    UK
    The figures don't add up, point one is 320 miles away from point 2 but it only adds 27 minutes to the elapsed time, to do this the GPS would have to travel between points 1 and 2 at 750 miles per hour

    The bottom line is that point one is false, this could be because the GPS is storing a false position as it has only just been turned on and it has insufficient satellites to give a correct position, however I wouldn't expect an error in position of hundreds of miles under any circumstances, so it may be that point one was from a previous trip, have you been to that location ?
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Jan 30, 2024
    #2
  3. PaulS

    PaulS

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2024
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    The strange thing is that the first point is close to the next point (on Base Camp they are next to one another).
     
    PaulS, Feb 5, 2024
    #3
  4. PaulS

    PaulS

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2024
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could it be the way I initiate the GPS. When I start a walk I "erase both track and trip data"? Should I do anything more than that?
     
    PaulS, Feb 5, 2024
    #4
  5. PaulS

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,322
    Likes Received:
    198
    Location:
    UK
    That is all I would expect to do at the start of a walk, it may be worth doing a factory reset on the 32x but you need to copy all Waypoints, Tracks, Routes etc. from the unit first as they will be erased in the reset process

    Code:
    Restoring All Default Settings
    You can reset all settings back to the factory default settings. 
    Select Setup > Reset > Reset All Settings > Yes.
    
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Feb 5, 2024
    #5
  6. PaulS

    PaulS

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2024
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you...
     
    PaulS, Feb 13, 2024
    #6
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.