Etrex help

Discussion in 'Garmin GPS' started by Rocketcharlie, Oct 27, 2020.

  1. Rocketcharlie

    Rocketcharlie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I am new to using my etrex 20x. I have been trying to type in some coordinates but it won't let me. When I get to the longitude it won't let me type in the 8 I need to, it remains a 5 that is already there. I'm not sure what I am doing wrong. 20201027_052457.jpg
     
    Rocketcharlie, Oct 27, 2020
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Rocketcharlie

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,468
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    UK
    In your picture the Etrex is set up to receive Latitude and Longitude in the Degrees and Minutes, in this format :-
    N 41 can be any number between 00 and 89 (degrees)
    46.208 can be any number between 00.000 and 59.999 (Minutes)
    W122 can be any number between 000 and 179 (Degrees)
    52.169 can be any number between 00.000 and 59.999 (Minutes)

    You need to change the format of your Etrex to receive Degrees rather than Degrees and Minutes

    Take a look at the 'Formats page (Click HERE), your Etrex is set to the format on line '2' but it needs to be set to the format on line '1'

    2020-10-27_14.53.35.jpg

    You need to change 'Position Format' to Degrees (hddd.ddddd)
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Oct 27, 2020
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Rocketcharlie

    Rocketcharlie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for trying to help. I went to the menu, found "system", then "position format". Is this how I should change to degrees? I am sending a photo of the screen that came up. Which option should I choose?

    Thanks again-

    Charlie
     

    Attached Files:

    Rocketcharlie, Oct 28, 2020
    #3
  4. Rocketcharlie

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,468
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    UK
    Yes, while 'Position Format' (the top option) is highlighted in Orange, press the round Enter button, this will show a new screen, you need to select the hddd.ddddd option as shown in my previous post
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Oct 28, 2020
    #4
  5. Rocketcharlie

    Rocketcharlie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to thank you for your help and your patience with an older guy.

    Thanks to your help I now am able to put in coordinates but when I go to view the map when I'm here at home I get a screen that is the picture I am including. I dont remember doing all that walking while carrying this gps device, at least not while I have it turned on. Is it possible it records while it's off? How do I get rid of all those lines so I can see my new route? 20201028_042338.jpg
     
    Rocketcharlie, Oct 28, 2020
    #5
  6. Rocketcharlie

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,468
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    UK
    The GPS does not record Track data while it is off, but it will record Track data all the time it is on, even when it isn't moving, it will also record in-doors but as the signal isn't so good, it is less accurate so the Track jumps around to where it thinks you are (even when it isn't moving)

    You can clear the current Track data with :-
    [Select] Track Manager > Current Track > Clear Current Track
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Oct 28, 2020
    #6
  7. Rocketcharlie

    Rocketcharlie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, I was able to clear the track data, thanks.

    Are you saying that all the blue lines are the result of the gps being indoors and "jumping around"?

    My next question is about clearing way points. I found a way to clear them ALL at once, but how do I clear an individual way point?
     
    Rocketcharlie, Oct 28, 2020
    #7
  8. Rocketcharlie

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,468
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    UK
    Yes, you could say they are errors, If you placed your GPS at the summit of Mount Shasta for an hour or so you would get the same pattern of 'jumps' but they would be closer together because the GPS signals are better up there with less errors

    If you select Waypoint manager you will get a list of Waypoints on your GPS, You can select a single Waypoint (in orange) and then display details of it using Enter, when you have the details of a single Waypoint displayed press Menu to display more options, e.g. :- Delete, Change Photo, Average Location etc. , then select Delete

    Do you have the User Guide for your Etrex20?, Delete Waypoint is on page 2
    for User Guide Click HERE
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Oct 28, 2020
    #8
  9. Rocketcharlie

    Rocketcharlie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I getting a little better I think. I was trying to use it this afternoon to take me somewhere (005). I am wondering 20201029_165838.jpg what the pink/purple line is that was on the screen. Please see attached picture.
     
    Rocketcharlie, Oct 30, 2020
    #9
  10. Rocketcharlie

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,468
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    UK
    When you 'Go To' a waypoint there are several options you can choose from to decide how you get to the Waypoint, e.g. by car, hiking (walking), Direct etc, if you select Car your GPS will calculate a Route following roads on the map and draw a purple line along the chosen roads to show the Route, if you choose hiking you will get a purple line showing a Route along footpaths on the map, in your picture the 'Direct' option has been selected, in this mode no calculation is done and a single purple line is drawn on the map starting at your curent location and ending at the 'Go To' waypoint as if you was flying a 'plane or was in a boat

    You can turn off the purple line by selecting 'Stop Navigating', this will turn off the 'Go To'
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Oct 30, 2020
    #10
  11. Rocketcharlie

    Rocketcharlie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm sorry but I'm not finding the option to select how I'm navigating. Driving, walking etc. I have gone through the items on the menu and I cant find it.
     
    Rocketcharlie, Oct 30, 2020
    #11
  12. Rocketcharlie

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,468
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    UK
    Please Note that the following images are from a GPSMap64 NOT an Etrex20, so they may be different to your screens :-
    profile.jpg profile2.jpg direct.jpg
    Fig1 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Fig2 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Fig3

    find.jpg activity.jpg road.jpg
    Fig4 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Fig5 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Fig6

    Changing the way the purple line is drawn is a bit complicated, Your Etrex20 has a set of Profiles, each Profile is allocated an Activity, like Driving, Walking etc. so if your current Profile is set to driving, the Routes (and the purple lines) will only be on roads, if your Profile is Hiking your Routes will be on paths

    On my GPSMap64 you can change how the Purple line is drawn like this :- If I Go To a Waypoint and get a straight line (Fig 3), I can press 'Find' to get Fig 4 and then select 'Change Route Activity' From 'Direct Routing' (Fig 5) to 'Automobile Driving, I then get a new purple line like the one in Fig 6

    I know you don't have a 'Find' option but you may get the same options with the 'Where To . . ' screen, you could then select 'Change Route Activity' and go from there
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Oct 30, 2020
    #12
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.