Fastest Route never makes any Sense

Discussion in 'Garmin GPS' started by GarminUserNJ, Sep 30, 2019.

1. GarminUserNJ

GarminUserNJ

I've been using Garmin GPS for a few years. Currently 50LMT and 51 LMT DriveAssist.
    The issue is with the fastest route. The GPS ALWAYS picks routes that go on major highways and toll roads even if this route may be up to 30 minutes longer than the common sense route or the Google maps route.

Here's how it goes:
    1. Pick a destination on the GPS. It picks a toll road on the OTHER side of the state. Let's say it's a 2 hr trip according to the GPS.
    2. I realize this is insane and start driving a more straightforward route. The GPS continues to try and make me turn around.
    3. At some point the GPS then, after zillions of recalculations, agrees with my route. So the 2 hr trip now says 1:45 duration or 1:30 or whatever less time than the original calculated route.
    4. This type of route calculation got worse 2x when updating firmware (and possibly maps).

Now this is sooo bad on every single trip(various) I take that the GPS is practically useless.
    I have my own theories but would like to hear from others on their experience and/or solutions.

GarminUserNJ, Sep 30, 2019
  2. GarminUserNJ

Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

You may be able to examine what is happening more easily by planning the route in Garmin Basecamp, but make sure that Basecamp and the Satnavs are all using exactly the same map or you may get different results. Basecamp has the same shortest, quickest etc. options as your satnavs and Basecamp on your computer can re-calculate and show alternative Routes much more efficiently

Nuvi-Nebie, Oct 1, 2019
  3. GarminUserNJ

GarminUserNJ

I installed basecamp and connected my gps to the computer so basecamp could access the map. This is interesting.
    I chose 2 trips I make frequently where the gps chooses routes that make no sense(to me).