G-Paws problem

Discussion in 'General GPS Discussion' started by Pete Tee, Jul 4, 2017.

1. Pete Tee

Pete Tee

Hi all I am a total noob so please bear with me...I have a G-paws tracker for keeping an eye on one of my wayward cats..The problem is that the Latitude reads 5 deg N ..it should be 50 deg which is where I am ???? I cant seem to adjust this without manually changing every single reading in notepad....I would like to know A can this be sorted on the Unit ? or B is there anyway that I Could change the readings En Masse ? The G-Paws website has NOT been available for weeks so I cant get help from them.....Many thanks in advance Pete

Pete Tee, Jul 4, 2017
  2. Pete Tee

Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

Are all the other digits recorded correctly? , Is the Longitude recorded correctly?, I think it is very unlikely that you will be able to set the tracker to correct this error, I think the unit is faulty.

You could use a text editor to find and replace all occurrences of this error as long as it is unique, e.g. find "N5" and replace with "N50"

Nuvi-Nebie, Jul 4, 2017
  3. Pete Tee

Pete Tee

Hi thanks for the reply..everything else is OK apart from the latitude problem....a txt editor is the likely solution ...have you any recommendations as to which editor to use ? thanks again Pete

Pete Tee, Jul 4, 2017
  4. Pete Tee

Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

Windows Notepad will do this, open the file with Notepad, select Edit >> Replace and enter N5 and N50 then click on Replace All :-

G-Paws.jpg

Nuvi-Nebie, Jul 4, 2017
    Ian likes this.
  5. Pete Tee

Pete Tee

Hi ....Sorted Thank you for your quick reply and help in getting this fixed for me..I really appreciate this ..Pete

Pete Tee, Jul 4, 2017
  6. Pete Tee

Mori

Hello,