G-Paws problem

Discussion in 'General GPS Discussion' started by Pete Tee, Jul 4, 2017.

  1. Pete Tee

    Pete Tee

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all I am a total noob so please bear with me...I have a G-paws tracker for keeping an eye on one of my wayward cats..The problem is that the Latitude reads 5 deg N ..it should be 50 deg which is where I am ???? I cant seem to adjust this without manually changing every single reading in notepad....I would like to know A can this be sorted on the Unit ? or B is there anyway that I Could change the readings En Masse ? The G-Paws website has NOT been available for weeks so I cant get help from them.....Many thanks in advance Pete
     
    Pete Tee, Jul 4, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Pete Tee

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    UK
    Are all the other digits recorded correctly? , Is the Longitude recorded correctly?, I think it is very unlikely that you will be able to set the tracker to correct this error, I think the unit is faulty.

    You could use a text editor to find and replace all occurrences of this error as long as it is unique, e.g. find "N5" and replace with "N50"
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Jul 4, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Pete Tee

    Pete Tee

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi thanks for the reply..everything else is OK apart from the latitude problem....a txt editor is the likely solution ...have you any recommendations as to which editor to use ? thanks again Pete
     
    Pete Tee, Jul 4, 2017
    #3
  4. Pete Tee

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    UK
    Windows Notepad will do this, open the file with Notepad, select Edit >> Replace and enter N5 and N50 then click on Replace All :-

    G-Paws.jpg
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Jul 4, 2017
    #4
    Ian likes this.
  5. Pete Tee

    Pete Tee

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi ....Sorted Thank you for your quick reply and help in getting this fixed for me..I really appreciate this ..Pete
     
    Pete Tee, Jul 4, 2017
    #5
  6. Pete Tee

    Mori

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I have a G-Paws GPS tracker (for my cat) I bought some years ago. It worked fine but then I stored it (OFF) and now it simply won't do its thing. The original manufacturer seems to have dropped off the Earth, the official helpdesk is gone, and so is the official website.

    Does anyone know anything about this tracker? It just flashes red (supposed to flash blue if good GPS lock), then stop flashing altogether.

    When connecting to the PC via USB it will sometimes let me browse the files (no new GPS files are made, however, even when I go around driving with it). But it will then cut off and not mount again.

    I expect this is probably the EOL for this thing, although I see you are still using one.

    P.S. I am in Australia if that matters.

    Thanks!
     
    Mori, Dec 31, 2017
    #6
  7. Pete Tee

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    UK
    Any GPS device that has been 'stored' for a while will take longer to find satellites, this is because the unit stores info. on where the satellites are in the sky so it knows what to look for, after being stored this info. can't be used so the unit has to search 'blind' which takes longer.

    Make sure the unit's batteries are fully charged and then place it in an area away from buildings, trees etc. where it has a clear view of the sky, leave the unit in the same location for as long as possible, checking from time to time to see if the unit has a satellite 'fix', I would say if the unit does not get a fix in a hour or so, it isn't going to work
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Jan 2, 2018
    #7
    Mori likes this.
  8. Pete Tee

    Mori

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK I will have another go. I have left it fully charged and for a long time but there have been trees around, I guess. I can find an elevated spot somewhere where the horizon is visible. After that I will finally write it off. Cheers for the reply!
     
    Mori, Jan 2, 2018
    #8
  9. Pete Tee

    Luckyswed

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Mori!
    I had the same problem but it turned out that my battery was weakened. So I replaced the battery in the gps then it worked again.

    // M
     
    Luckyswed, Feb 3, 2018
    #9
    Mori likes this.
  10. Pete Tee

    Mori

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you. What did you do to replace the batteries?
     
    Mori, Feb 4, 2018
    #10
  11. Pete Tee

    Luckyswed

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Luckyswed, Feb 4, 2018
    #11
  12. Pete Tee

    Mori

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mori, Feb 4, 2018
    #12
  13. Pete Tee

    Jpsimons89

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Howdy, I have the same problem with connecting to my computer. The light turns green and flashes red. And then I can’t read the files and doesn’t show on my PC. Any idea?
     
    Jpsimons89, Jul 24, 2019
    #13
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.