Garmin Iq3600 waypoints and map layers

Discussion in 'Garmin GPS' started by Jumpy, May 2, 2018.

1. Jumpy

Jumpy

Hello, this is my first time to this forum and hope the all knowing can help me.

I have had this pda/gps for some time and I thought it could be used for other things. It has been packed up in storage for about 5 years. I dug it out a few months ago and it had all kinds of problems with docking station. The battery needs replaced and needing a sync cord. I was able to power it up correct date time etc. after looking threw this I determined it could be a very useful tool for some hobbies I have. However I wish to upgrade maps some for the satellite images and also a Topo map.

I have a couple projects I could use it for in a major way. Their are some old buildings where I hike and thought it would be a novel idea to use an external antenna to map out the old buildings and maybe export to my Mac??? Not sure if that is possiable but it would be a neat to aee how these old ruins were laid out.

I also hunt for ginseng and various other plants from the wild. Some of these plants people really want and it’s best to safeguard what you know. Sometimes I will not go back to a site for years sometime 5 years later. This can be difficult to remember where one plant is years later even with the best of notes. I feel it’s safe as it shouldn’t be able to be hacked by the common person who does the stuff I do.

I do not work with this type of thing for a living so all I do know is the few scant videos on YouTube and what I have learned playing with device. Not a lot of exposure for what I hope it will do.

If it is possible to use an external antenna like survivors do for higher accuracy please let me know.

Thanks in advanced for any help you can provide.

Jumpy, May 2, 2018
  2. Jumpy

Nuvi-Nebie Moderator