Garmin Oregon 600 maps not working

Discussion in 'Garmin GPS' started by Arancio1999, Jun 23, 2024.

  1. Arancio1999

    Arancio1999

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2024
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oregon 600 have not used it for a few years, Since I got my Forerunnerr 945. The maps are larger on the Oregon so wanted to use it on the trail in areas with no cell coverage. Maps just won't show beyound a world base map detail. When I remove the micro SD card and put in my Windows computor and hover over the citinavigator and topo map it says files are corupted. The message on the screen when I try use the routing function is (No route able roads in area) I can see the map files on the miro SD card after I add them with map install but my Oregon just can''t reed them. Thank you
     
    Arancio1999, Jun 23, 2024
    #1
  2. Arancio1999

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,403
    Likes Received:
    201
    Location:
    UK
    I assume you are using the Map Install feature in Garmin Basecamp, if so are the maps you want to install viewable in Basecamp when the 600 is not connected to the computer ?, this would prove that the maps visible to Bascamp are not corrupted. I would copy the map files on the microSD to a temporary folder on the computer and then delete the map files from the microSD card, you can then retry the map install from Basecamp to the 600, if all goes well you can delete the mapfiles in the temporary computer folder
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Jun 24, 2024
    #2
  3. Arancio1999

    Arancio1999

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2024
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0

    I also attempted to reformat my
    Macrosd card got a message the card is write protected
     
    Arancio1999, Jun 24, 2024
    #3
  4. Arancio1999

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,403
    Likes Received:
    201
    Location:
    UK
    Did you try the suggestions in post #2 ?, if you can't reformat the microSD then the card itself is possibly damaged, I would try another microSD
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Jun 26, 2024
    #4
  5. Arancio1999

    Arancio1999

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2024
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    It took me a while finally got it solved so my window 10 machine was telling file on the Nico SD WAS corruped then I tried reformat the card and got a message card is write protected. I sourced a micro SD reader sepperate from my computer. It allowed me reform my card. Reload the maps for whatever time and all is working
     
    Arancio1999, Jun 29, 2024
    #5
  6. Arancio1999

    Arancio1999

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2024
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the help
     
    Arancio1999, Jun 29, 2024
    #6
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.