Garmin power/traffic cord alternative?

Discussion in 'Garmin GPS' started by Bobup, Jun 5, 2018.

  1. Bobup

    Bobup

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castro Valley, Ca
    I'm looking for an alternative power/traffic cord for my 50LMTHD.
    What I would like is to get rid of the stupid cigarette plug on the end of the cord and have a USB connector instead.
    Anyone know of such an animal?
    Do I need to "cut the cord" myself and splice one on the end?
    TIA
    bob
     
    Bobup, Jun 5, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Bobup

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    UK
    Are you saying you want the type of cable you would use to connect your 50LMTHD to a laptop or desktop computer?, I.e. a full size USB connector on one end and a smaller USB to connect to the satnav?, if the answer is yes, then the only problem I can see is that this type of cable might put the unit into data transfer mode rather than navigation mode, This is because the standard cable has 2 wires for power and 2 for data, if the 2 data wires are disconnected, the unit will go into navigation mode

    Rather than destroying the supplied cable, you can use a standard USB cable and disconnect the 2 data wires to prevent 'data mode', Please note that the supplied cigarette plug cable converts 12 Volts to 5 Volts, whereas the USB cable does not do this conversion, because a USB socket supplies 5 Volts anyway, Also some supplied cables have an FM receiver built-in to supply traffic data to the satnav, if you don't use this cable and a 12 Volt supply, it may stop traffic info. working
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Jun 5, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Bobup

    Bobup

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castro Valley, Ca
    That is what I am after plug wise but still have the Traffic module on it. I still want to use it in my vehicle, but those dang cigarette plugs I dislike. I want to be able to plug in two usb powered items at the same time.
     
    Bobup, Jun 5, 2018
    #3
  4. Bobup

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    UK
    The traffic module might need to run from the vehicle's 12 Volt supply (see note in post #2)
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Jun 5, 2018
    #4
  5. Bobup

    Bobup

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castro Valley, Ca
    That could present a problem then.....
     
    Bobup, Jun 5, 2018
    #5
  6. Bobup

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    UK
    If you need to retain the traffic info. function there is probaly no alternative to hacking the cable, cutting the wires near the cigarette plug will give you a better idea of what is happening, if you find only 2 wires supplying 5 Volts you should be O.K. to replace the cigarette plug with a USB plug

    If you find 12 Volts at the 'cut' then the conversion from 12 Volts to 5 Volts is being done in the tuner module and connecting 5 Volts at the cut won't work, if you find 3 or more wires then something more complex is going on, possibly an antenna wire or 1 or 2 data wires
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Jun 5, 2018
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
Loading...