Garmin Suggestion

Discussion in 'Garmin GPS' started by david7710, Feb 11, 2019.

1. david7710

david7710

I'm brand new to this forum and need some help. I've been using a Garmin RV660LMT for several years and am quite familiar with its operation. Of late, it has lost its electronic mind and is no longer useful. It turns on and off randomly (the same in 2 vehicles with 2 different power cords). If it doesn't turn off, the screen brightness suddenly goes way down, and then back up. It forgets the current location and has to re-find itself. Occasionally it displays just a plain white screen. It's just behaving very oddly.

What I need is a Garmin GPS with:
    1) a 5 or 6 inch screen
    2) that accepts a download from Basecamp with a complicated, long routes, that has enough memory to store 20 or so such complicated routes
    3) that will connect to a BC-30 camera wirelessly
    4) that has a wide POI knowledge
    5) I do not need specific RV help as the RV660LMT has
    6) Cheaper is better than more expensive

Any ideas?

david7710, Feb 11, 2019
  2. david7710

Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

Does your unit work from it's internal battery ?, if not it may be possible to fix it with a replacement battery

When looking for a replacement unit, this list of Garmin devices that are compatible with the BC-30 might be useful :-

https://buy.garmin.com/en-GB/GB/p/501486#devices

Nuvi-Nebie, Feb 12, 2019
  3. david7710

david7710

Thanks for the response. The unit works usually from a Garmin power supply that plugs into a 12 volt outlet. As I mentioned before, it misbehaves oddly in two separate vehicles with two different Garmin power supply cords. The unit will operate for a few minutes on the internal battery, but it was never really intended to be operated for long on the small internal battery.