Going From a 3597 to the Nuvicam LMTHD

Discussion in 'Garmin GPS' started by jazz1, May 29, 2015.

  1. jazz1

    jazz1

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    New member here. I just ordered the Nuvicam LMTHD that most likely will replace my current 3597. Different beasts I know, so I'm looking forward to comparing them and reporting about the "upgrade" here.

    Is anyone out there already a Nuvicam user? If so how do you like it? Does it perform well?
     
    jazz1, May 29, 2015
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. jazz1

    telcoman

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just got one, but have not really used it yet. A few issues:

    1) I was unable to get POI loader to recognize it. To install custom POIs, I had to create a POI directory in the Garmin folder, then copy the GPI files from my old Garmin over manually.
    2) I cant find a place to put a power on password in. At least with that if somebody steals it, it is useless tot them. This GPS does not seem to have that feature.
     
    telcoman, Jun 3, 2015
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. jazz1

    jazz1

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. Let me know how it goes. I will do the same. I won't get to play with it until this weekend. I'm probably going to try a dash mount using the Garmin friction mount.
     
    jazz1, Jun 3, 2015
    #3
  4. jazz1

    jazz1

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Made a short run with Garmin Nuvicam today using the Garmin friction mount. My Volvo has a weirdly sculptured dash, and it worked okay. It still puts the GPS just slightly out of reach, but the Voice Command worked better than I expected as long as I turned down the radio before issuing the command.

    I could not get the feature that shows you the camera view of the destination upon arriving at the destination to work. I'll call Garmin on Monday.

    Another disappointment. It gave me the wrong route to a local AT&T Store. Told me to turn right when the store was on the left. Maybe it was going to circle me around because a median would have blocked a left turn. However the shortest route was to take a left and the a quick right off the intersection into the back of the store.

    I have not yet view a captured video. I will check the memory card tonight
     
    jazz1, Jun 7, 2015
    #4
  5. jazz1

    jazz1

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Nuvicam movies were very good. Though I need to push the friction mount closer to the window or use the suction cup in order to get a little more of my car hood cropped out of the bottom of the video. I did push the red button several times so that it would save the videos. So far the videos are going to the first memory card slot, not the second one where I've installed a second 64GB card. I wonder if it fill the first card first, and then go to the second card? I'll try more mounting options this weekend, and also team it up with my Escort Max. I've got to sort out all the, in car, device power needs, as I also run my iPhone on long trips. Plus a second phone if the spouse is on a long trip.
     
    jazz1, Jun 9, 2015
    #5
  6. jazz1

    Leelak

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought Nuvicam 2 weeks back. I am able to upload custom POIs but I am not able to load custom gmapprom or gmapsupp maps .

    Also I tried to transfer the map from mapsource and Base Camp. Not working!!!

    Anybody have similar problem??
     
    Leelak, Jun 10, 2015
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.