Gpsmap 64s won't turn on

Discussion in 'Garmin GPS' started by Angelo Vimeney, Oct 26, 2017.

1. Angelo Vimeney

Angelo Vimeney

Hi guys,

I have a Garmin gpsmap 64s. I've been using this device for a couple of years without any problems. Unfortunately, in the last months I started experiencing an annoying, intermittent problem. Sometimes, the device simply won't turn on. I press the power button and its screen remains completely black, no initialization messages are displayed at all. The only way to bring it back to life is plugging it to the computer via USB cable. Once the device is plugged and unplugged, it works properly again... Until the problem arises once again. Has anyone ever experienced that? Could it be some sort of internal battery problem? I would appreciate any guesses on how to solve this issue.

Regards,
    Angelo

Angelo Vimeney, Oct 26, 2017
  2. Angelo Vimeney

Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

Do you lose stored data such as waypoints, tracks and routes after this problem, if you do I would say that the internal backup battery is faulty, if you don't lose data, it could be a problem with the main battery connectors, corrosion on the metal terminals that contact with the main batteries or internal metal contacts that transfer power between the front and back halves of the unit

The internal metal contacts can also fail to make good contact if the two halves of the case are not fully together, due to screws not being tight or a damaged case

Nuvi-Nebie, Oct 26, 2017
    Angelo Vimeney likes this.
  3. Angelo Vimeney

Angelo Vimeney

Thanks Nuvi-Nebie for your quick reply!

In fact, I don't loose any data when the problem happens.