Gpsmap64 saved tracts distance

Discussion in 'General GPS Discussion' started by 1836, Mar 30, 2021.

  1. 1836

    1836

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hit mark to save my starting point. Do my hike, a few hours later return to my starting point. I save my route in track manager. Or at least that’s where it ends up. When I go back to check all the data, everything looks right except the mileage. In all 3 hikes I saved it shows some random off the wall distance. 157 mi , 194 mi last one is 9313 mi. I realize I’m probably not doing something right but can’t figure out what. This is a pretty easy GPS to navigate with. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
    1836, Mar 30, 2021
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. 1836

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    133
    Location:
    UK
    I would examine the tracks in Garmin Basecamp, It will be easier to see what is adding the extra miles, you may find that different tracks are being merged into one, but unless you moved 9000 Miles in between hikes, it is hard to explain what is going on here, your GPSMap64 may need a full reset (after backing up any data you want to keep) PLEASE NOTE All user data will be erased


    Performing a Reset
    1. Ensure the device is powered off.
    2. Press and hold both Page and Enter simultaneously.
    3. Power on the device while continuing to press both buttons.
    4. Release the Power button when Garmin appears on the screen.
    5. Release the other buttons once the Do you really want to erase all user data? ...
    6. Arrow to Erase or Yes
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Mar 30, 2021
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. 1836

    1836

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you! You gave me a good starting point.
     
    1836, Mar 31, 2021
    #3
  4. 1836

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    133
    Location:
    UK
    Please let us know what you did to fix the problem
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Apr 1, 2021
    #4
  5. 1836

    1836

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I cleared out all previous data, Took a short hike and it recorded the distance perfect.
    Not sure if it was merging the distance from previous hikes or I had something still active that I wasn’t aware of. Either way it’s working fine and I appreciate your help
     
    1836, Apr 6, 2021
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.