Map Updates and Corrections for Magellan

Discussion in 'Magellan GPS' started by ajarmstrong14, Dec 2, 2013.

1. ajarmstrong14

ajarmstrong14

Hi All,

Just a quick bit of impartial advice.

I'm looking to upgrade my current TomTom GPS for my car and, am as sure as I can be that I'll not be getting another TomTom. I've been fighting TomTom for literally 2 years to add a missing SHOPPING CENTER and they've still not done it!

So, realistically, that leaves just Garmin and Magellan. Magellan seems a bit pricier than Garmin but I would appreciate your experience on this forum regarding when you report a map error or map correction to Magellan. Firstly, how long does it take Magellan to update the maps with the suggested changes? Secondly, if they say they've confirmed the change needs to be made, how efficient are they in getting that requested map update on the next map update? That's been the big fight with TomTom. Thirdly, is it easy to submit map change requests?

Looking at what the Magellan GPS's seem to offer I think I would like to have one despite the slightly more expensive price tag but I want to have a GPS where the company actually updates the maps correctly and in a reasonably timely manner i.e. no more than 4 months after being reported.

I await your advice in due course. Many thanks in advance.

Regards,

ajarmstrong14, Dec 2, 2013
  2. ajarmstrong14

dave61430

I have a 2010 TomTom which is very good, but for some strange reason doesn't seem to know the courts where I live.
    Just got a refurbished Magellan with lifetime maps. Prior to updating, it seemed identical to the TomTom. After the map update is better but not as good as Garmin.
    Garmin uses NAVTEQ and is a very accurate unit. Both TomTom and Magellan use TeleAtlas. Google maps has just started using TeleAtlas for some reason so I would suspect that within a year or so there should be an improvement.