Request rec: hiking GPS with rechargeable battery

Discussion in 'General GPS Discussion' started by Gorlash, Apr 20, 2022.

1. Gorlash

Gorlash

I've been using a Garmin eTrex GPS for several years, for plotting my hiking paths... it works very nicely, picks up satellites quickly, and does a reasonable job of maintaining accuracy if I'm hiking under trees. The only problem with it, is that the unit tends to sit in my pack for months at a time, and I will sometimes pull it out to use it, and again find the batteries are dead.

I would like to replace it with a unit which has an internal, USB-rechargeable battery. I always carry a large external battery with me, with usb-micro and usb-C cables to recharge my phone, Kindle, etc if they are low. I want to be able to do the same with the GPS, so it will just be ready to use when I need it.

I also want the unit to have the higher-sensitivity receiver in it, so it can still track me when I'm hiking under cover.

So, any recommendations for this??

Gorlash, Apr 20, 2022
  2. Gorlash

Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

Obviously your eTrex can be run on rechargeable batteries, however you would need to charge them out of the eTrex itself, Garmin make quite a few models that use a rechargeable pack that can be charged in the unit (see the list below) , the pack is made up of two AA batteries held together with a piece of plastic, this plastic operates a switch in the GPS that tells the unit that the batteries are re-chargable, however it is possible to use other re-chargeable AAs and charge them in these GPSs by using a piece cardboard / plastic etc. to operate the switch as the Garmin battery pack is overpriced

Here is a list of Garmin units that will take the Garmin 010-11874-00 re-chargable battery pack :-

GPSMAP64, GPSMAP65, GPSMAP66, Oregon600,Oregon650, Oregon700, Oregon750

Nuvi-Nebie, Apr 21, 2022
  3. Gorlash

Gorlash