Traffic Information

Discussion in 'Garmin GPS' started by MightyGem, Oct 11, 2021.

  1. MightyGem

    MightyGem

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone have a satnav that receives traffic information over the DAB network?

    I've noticed that mine keeps losing the traffic signal or doesn't pick up a signal in places where it normally does. Just wondered if anyone was having the same problem.
     
    MightyGem, Oct 11, 2021
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. MightyGem

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    UK
    Garmin have quite a few different ways of getting traffic info onto their satnavs, there are :-

    1) Garmin RDS-TMC . . . From FM radio
    2) Garmin Digital Traffic . . . Was on DAB radio
    3) Garmin Live Traffic . . . From internet via bluetooth smartphone
    4) Garmin HD Traffic . . . From DAB radio

    If you have noticed that your service had stopped working recently, you may have been using Garmin Digital Traffic , this was turned off on 30th. June 2021 in the UK, here is the notice from Garmin :-
    Code:
    Garmin would like to inform you that the Garmin Digital Traffic service
    for the United Kingdom will cease to exist as from 30th June 2021 due
    to the current service provider discontinuing the service. Whilst any
     compatible Garmin device will continue to receive traffic updates via
    the RDS-TMC provider after this date, Garmin would recommend users
     to take advantage of our Live Traffic service to ensure they are receiving
    the most comprehensive coverage and updated traffic information possible.
    
    'Garmin HD' Traffic uses DAB radio, I am not sure if this service was also discontinued at the same time as Garmin Digital Traffic, as they now only seem to be advertising Garmin Live and the older RDS-TMC on FM radio
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Oct 12, 2021
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. MightyGem

    MightyGem

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK. Thanks for that. I still get the traffic info, so perhaps I'm receiving the HD service, or the RDS-TMC service. The Live Traffic is not an option for me as I don't have the internet on my phone away from home, as I'm on PAYG.
     
    MightyGem, Oct 12, 2021
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.