unable to connect to google earth

Discussion in 'Garmin GPS' started by thistlebarrow, Feb 16, 2017.

  1. thistlebarrow

    thistlebarrow

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have a garmin etrex 10 and use BaseCamp and MapSource. Until recently I have been able to view tracks and routes on Google Earth. But when I tried to do so yesterday i got a message that i had to download Google Earth. It was already on my computer, and was switched on when I got this message.

    I have uninstalled and downloaded Google Earth again, but get the same message

    Any suggestions please?
     
    thistlebarrow, Feb 16, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. thistlebarrow

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    UK
    There have been several reports of this, it appears newer versions of Google Earth won't allow Garmin products to 'see' it.

    One sollution is to open / run Google Earth before you try to access it from Basecamp / Mapsource.

    Users have fixed this by installing an older version of Google Earth, also there is a Garmin link below that shows a registary fix for this :-

    https://forums.garmin.com/showthread.php?283899-Google-Earth-and-BaseCamp

    Depending where Google Earth resides on your computer, one of the following command lines has been reported to fix this :-
    Code:
    "C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Google Earth Pro\client\googleearth.exe" /RegServer
    (works with Google Earth Pro in Win 7...10)

    Code:
    "C:\Program Files\Google\Google EarthPro\client\googleearth.exe" /RegServer
    (Google Earth Pro in XP)

    Code:
    "C:\Program Files\Google\Google Earth\client\googleearth.exe" /RegServer
    (Google Earth in XP)
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Feb 16, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. thistlebarrow

    thistlebarrow

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried launching Google Earth first and then opened MapSource and BaseCamp but it still says I have to install Google Earth.

    If there anywhere I can find an older version of Google Earth?

    I didn't really understand the second part of the answer about a "registary fix".

    Is this likely to be corrected by a later update of Google Earth, or will I just have to manage without Google Earth?

    I live in Spain and there are no maps available for my area. So I will really miss Google Earth.
     
    thistlebarrow, Feb 16, 2017
    #3
  4. thistlebarrow

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    UK
    For the registry fix, you need to find where Google Earth is on your computer, if you right click on it's icon and then click on properties you should see a line that says 'Target', like this :-

    GE1.jpg

    If you right click on the text and click on 'Select All' then ' Copy', you will capture the full path to Google Earth, next click on the Windows Start icon (bottom left of screen) and select Run ..., in the OPEN window right click on the text box, select paste to inset the text you copied into the text box, it should look like the examples above, on the end of this text add a space followed by /RegServer and then click on OK
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Feb 16, 2017
    #4
  5. thistlebarrow

    thistlebarrow

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I followed your instructions to find Google Earth properties. My screen looked slightly different from yours above.
    In the Target box it said
    "(x86)\Google\Google Earth\client\googleearth.exe"

    In the Start in box it said
    "C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Google Earth\client\"

    The Start in box looks more similar to your illustration.

    Should I use Target box or Start in box?
     
    thistlebarrow, Feb 16, 2017
    #5
  6. thistlebarrow

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    UK
    In your case it's a mixture of the two because you need the full path to the *.exe file, the command that you should enter in the Run ... window is :-
    Code:
    "C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Google Earth\client\googleearth.exe" /RegServer
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Feb 16, 2017
    #6
  7. thistlebarrow

    thistlebarrow

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did what you suggested and got the following message

    "COM registration failed (user may not have adminisgtrator permission). Other programs (e.g. SketchUp) may not worrectly with Google Earth"
     
    thistlebarrow, Feb 17, 2017
    #7
  8. thistlebarrow

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    UK
    You may have an option to login to your computer as administrator or as a different user with administrator permissions, if not you could try changing your permissions, however I don't think you can give yourself a higher level than you current are, it's a bit 'chicken and egg', the setting will be something like :-

    Start Menu >> Control Panel >> User Accounts >> Change my Account (or Create an account) >> click on account name >> Change my account type.


    If the SketchUp program has been installed recently, it may be the cause of your problem, as it appears to be conflicting with Google Earth, it may be worth temporarily removing it to see if it makes a difference
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Feb 18, 2017
    #8
  9. thistlebarrow

    Vecharo

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Use the line Nuvi laid out but put it in the CMD prompt (admin).
    Using Windows 10
    -Copy the Google Earth target location (with the /RegServer ending) --->
    "C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Google Earth\client\googleearth.exe" /RegServer

    -Right click on the start icon and choose Command (admin).
    Then paste that line and hit enter.
    Close the CMD prompt
    Launch Google Earth
    Launch base camp
     
    Vecharo, Apr 8, 2017
    #9
  10. thistlebarrow

    kanacuk

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Workin also with Homeport!!!
    thks!!

    Happy
     
    kanacuk, Apr 11, 2017
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Pc-Mobile
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    839
    Mr E Mann
    Sep 11, 2003
  2. A Jozef

    unable to connect PC to Etrex Vista

    A Jozef, Oct 30, 2003, in forum: General GPS
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,549
    A Jozef
    Nov 1, 2003
  3. D. Roskam
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    471
    nospam@comcast.net
    Jan 21, 2004
  4. Robert J Batina
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,951
    Robert J Batina
    Oct 28, 2005
  5. Gareth Slee

    Unable to connect to an O2 XDA

    Gareth Slee, Aug 4, 2005, in forum: UK GPS
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    400
    Darren Griffin -PocketGPSWorld.Com
    Aug 4, 2005
  6. B. Peg

    Unable to connect to Garmin by using their Unlock Wizard

    B. Peg, Nov 20, 2004, in forum: Global Navigation Satellite Systems
    Replies:
    16
    Views:
    1,501
    Darrel Goheen
    Nov 26, 2004
  7. climbwave

    Google earth - earth bridge

    climbwave, Jul 8, 2013, in forum: General GPS Discussion
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    807
    climbwave
    Jul 8, 2013
  8. Richard McMurtry
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    840
    Nuvi-Nebie
    Feb 16, 2017
Loading...