Upgrading from a 60CSx

Discussion in 'General GPS Discussion' started by Trooper1954, Sep 29, 2023.

1. Trooper1954

Trooper1954

Hi all,.....first post here.

I have an older 60CSx that has served me well for 15+ years, and it's time to upgrade. While having some GPS knowledge I am by no means a techie, and am getting totally confused with the available offerings on the market today.
    Here are a few questions I have for those of you with lots of experience.....any help would be appreciated.
    1. Are there any current models that take both AA batteries and a rechargeable battery pack?
    2. If I just wanted basic Inreach SOS capabilities with the lowest plan what models cover this?
    3. If you were replacing a 60CSx in todays market, what would you replace it with?
    4. Need barometer and altimeter
    5. Can the newer models still be used with Basecamp? I have lots of saved files. If not, how stable/what is the current alternative that people are using?

I have done some research, but all it does is confuse me! :).....I'm a senior, perhaps that's why!! LoL

Thanks in advance for any advice....I'm sure I'll have other questions but this will do for now.

Thanks.

Trooper1954, Sep 29, 2023
  2. Trooper1954

Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

As I see it you have 3 main requirements, AA batterys / removable rechargeable battery pack, Inreach and Sensors (electronic compass and electronic altimeter / barometer), the third one isn't a problem with nearly all available units having this option, however I think you will have to decide which of the first two you want because I don't think there is a single unit that has both

I am guessing that Inreach satellite communication can't be achieved using 3 Volts so units like the Inreach Explorer and the GPSMap67i that both have Inreach and sensors have built-in rechargeable batteries and are charged via a USB connector