Voice recognition Nuvi 2597

Discussion in 'Garmin GPS' started by Scorpanicus, Mar 3, 2022.

  1. Scorpanicus

    Scorpanicus

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2022
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NZ
    No matter what accent I attempt or how I say it, the results from an address voice command are wildly inacurate and have no relation to the address command. Is this typical or is my unit a dud as far as voice commands go?
     
    Scorpanicus, Mar 3, 2022
    #1
  2. Scorpanicus

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,403
    Likes Received:
    201
    Location:
    UK
    Do friends and colleagues have similar voice recognition problems with their satnavs ?
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Mar 3, 2022
    #2
  3. Scorpanicus

    Scorpanicus

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2022
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NZ
    Don't actually know anyone who has/uses that function. That's why I was wondering if any on this forum had the same problem. I've had a friend attempt a voice command address on my unit with much the same negative results.
     
    Scorpanicus, Mar 3, 2022
    #3
  4. Scorpanicus

    Nuvi-Nebie Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,403
    Likes Received:
    201
    Location:
    UK
    I was just wondering if it was accent problem, I guess these things are trained on a USA english accent
     
    Nuvi-Nebie, Mar 3, 2022
    #4
  5. Scorpanicus

    Scorpanicus

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2022
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NZ
    Don't think it can be an accent thing though I'm originally from the UK. English is my only language.
    (though I've given it a shot attempting US and Aussie accents!) :)
     
    Scorpanicus, Mar 3, 2022
    #5
  6. Scorpanicus

    corvetteguy

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2022
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Why not custom set a simpler VOICE COMMAND like ALEXA.
     
    corvetteguy, Mar 19, 2022
    #6
  7. Scorpanicus

    Scorpanicus

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2022
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NZ
    Don't think it would be possible to do that.
     
    Scorpanicus, Mar 19, 2022
    #7
  8. Scorpanicus

    corvetteguy

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2022
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    I own 8 2597 units. hey all suck at recognizing the 'voice Command" Set it to your
    new start command by opening the 'Voice command App;. then custom
    setting the new word.
    You will still have problems stating the menu items as it misses 50% of the time.
    The 2597 is a nice unit, especially when to link a smartphone you it and use you
    mobile data to access nice traffic and weather features from your phone.
     
    corvetteguy, Mar 19, 2022
    #8
  9. Scorpanicus

    Scorpanicus

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2022
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NZ
    Thanks for the reply.
    So you need to somehow link it to a smartphone to get successful voice recognition?
    Unfortunately I don't have one. From your experience with 8 units it sounds like the 'Voice Command' installed on all 2597 satnav's is unreliable. At least I know now that my unit was not just a one off dud!
     
    Scorpanicus, Mar 19, 2022
    #9
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.