eTrex 20 Track Manager Question

Discussion in 'Garmin GPS' started by Paul F, Oct 5, 2015.

1. Paul F

Paul F

Hello
    I'm new to using this device or any other GPS device for that matter and I'm just wondering why under the Track Manager option, does it create a track even though the device is stationary?
    I have the device on the desk beside me as I'm typing this up and I can see the pointer icon moving around and creating a track even though the device itself isn't being moved.

I have done the Clear Current Track many times and yet it still is in the process of creating a track when I click on Current Track again.

This is what I do:
    1 On the main menu window, I click on Track Manager.
    2 Click on Current Track...I have no archived tracks.
    3 Click on View Map and that's where I see the pointer icon moving around with the track being generated behind it.
    The pointer is moving around in a random manner.

So, I then repeat steps 1 and 2 and instead of clicking on View Map in step 3, I instead scroll down and click on Clear Current Track and click Yes.
    Then when I repeat steps 1 through 3 again, it still shows a track being created.
    I even have the track log under the setup menu set to Do Not Record if that makes any difference.

How do you stop it from creating a track?

Paul F, Oct 5, 2015
  2. Paul F

Nuvi-Nebie Moderator