Garmin Newbie - Trying to Create Route

Discussion in 'Garmin GPS' started by kxbronco, May 26, 2019.

1. kxbronco

kxbronco

As the subject says, I'm a newbie at creating routes. My first experience in doing this was semi- successful. Here's what I am trying to do and what I have done.

My goal is to create routes and download them to my Garmin RV760LMT. I'm looking for the simplest, least complicated process (step by step) that I can find and definitely want it to be repeatable. I want to be able to eliminate as many variables as possible and configure both Basecamp, RV760, and/or Google Maps to minimize incompatibility issues.

So far I've created 2 routes. The first was mostly successful and the second was not. The first route was created in Google Maps, converted to a .gpx using GPSVISUALIZER.com, loaded into Basecamp, converted to a route, and downloaded into my RV760LMT. When used on the RV760, the turn-by-turn directions worked pretty good. Where it got a little off I was able to figure out and correct. My second attempt was while sitting in a campground with no internet service. I connected my RV760 to my laptop, created my route (I believe using the map on the RV760), and downloaded to my RV760. Everything looked good on the RV760. I could see the turn-by-turn directions when I looked at the details of the map. So, when I left the campground I selected my route in trip planner, selected the destination, and pressed GO. The RV760 recalculated the route and was taking me about 50 miles further and was not at all following the route I created. When I stopped the route and went back in I could look at the turn-by-turn directions for my route and they were what I wanted, but as soon as I hit GO it recalculated my route.